Office: 604-585-3555 |


Delta is a district municipality in British Columbia, and forms part of Metro Vancouver. Located south of Richmond, it is bordered by the Fraser River to the north, the United States (Point Roberts, Washington) to the south and the city of Surrey to the east. Delta is composed of three distinct communities: Ladner, Tsawwassen, and North Delta.


As of 2005, Delta’s population was 102,655. About 23% of Delta’s population are visible minorities, of which there are approximately 12,000 South Asiansand 5,400 Chinese Canadians. There are also about 1,400 Aboriginal peoples, some from the Tsawwassen Indian band, who still hold traditional lands on the Tsawwassen Indian Reserve as well as the Hwlitsum First Nation, at the mouth of the Fraser River.


Delta comprises three distinct, geographically separate communities:

  • North Delta (pop: 52,000) is home to over half of Delta’s population. It is a largely suburban area in north-east Delta bordered by the Burns Bog andSurrey.
  • Ladner (pop: 25,000) is a 19th century fishing village in north-west Delta that has expanded into a suburb. Fishing and farming are important industries. Ladner Trunk Road is its main street.
  • Tsawwassen (pop: 25,000) is a suburban community in south-west Delta that calls itself the sunniest place in Metro Vancouver. Luxury waterfront homes line Tsawwassen’s coast. Tsawwassen is also home to the busy Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal which links the mainland to Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands. Tsawwassen, together with Ladner are also known as South Delta.

Find out more information at, or contact your REALTOR at Coldwell Banker Vantage Realty for more information on Delta.